I I See Elvis
I See Elvis Players Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

OVER CLOCKING ASUS

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    I See Elvis Forum Index -> Forum Help/Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:03 pm    Post subject: OVER CLOCKING ASUS Reply with quote

OK Techies and Geeks, what’s the answer here:

I have been running my system at 10% Over clock with the use of Asus AI Booster. Normal readings are:

CPU Voltage: 1.39v

FSB: 803.63

CPU Speed: 2210.03

@ 200.91 x 11

Ram Voltage: 2.65v

With a 10% OC this leaves me with:


CPU Voltage: 1.39v

FSB: 879.97

CPU Speed: 2422.28

@ 220.21 x 11

Ram Voltage: 2.80v

(Temp is not an issue on all settings – water cooled)


Having changed the RAM settings to 3-4-3-8 @ 2.8v and got it running up to 260MHz it has remained stable for a 12 hour test but in games does not seem to make any difference to the performance. I can out the CAS upto 3 but again no visable change. The RAM voltage max’s out at 2.8v and will not clock higher and the 1T/2T settings

So the question, do I stick with the 10% settings from AI Booster or is it worth continuing the boring routine of changing every little volt to get a difference?

My System consists of:

MB; ASUS A8N32SLI Deluxe

CPU: Athlon 64 X2 Dual 4400

Ram: 1 Gb Corsair 2048-3500LL Pro

Vid: 2 x BFG GeForce 7800 GT
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smurf_killer
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 1719
Location: Cambridgeshire

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mmmm, send it to me, get your self a new one, cos your a filthy rich officer, oh and a Billie lol.

That would make me happy, the wife happy, (cos it will be free of course), and you would be happy as the new system will be better, bigger and faster than your old one. Thats a win, win, win situation allround.






































you know you wanna !!!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
Don1
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 2482
Location: UK, Near the middle..............

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Up the CPU voltage to 1.45v. Up the FSB to 250MHz. Use a divider on the ram to keep it at or around 200MHz.

Or,

Feck it all into the bin and get a much faster Intel Core 2 Duo system like mine. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can up the CPU voltage which lowers the FSB to 219 but
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Don1
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 2482
Location: UK, Near the middle..............

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viking44 wrote:
I can up the CPU voltage which lowers the FSB to 219 but


Don't talk bollocks.....
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viking44 wrote:
pressed the wrong button, 2 more tweeks than ill report back, NO Smurf No! its just not fair on you to have to deal with hand outs so I refuse to put you in that position!

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK i can get to FSB up to 240MHz anything highter than that I get the black screen!

at 240MHz it puts the processor at 2639.91

The RAM is now set as follows;

2.5-11-2-3

TRRD 2T
TRC 8T
TRFC 24T

How do you test what MHz the RAM is running at?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Don1
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 2482
Location: UK, Near the middle..............

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

Post screenshots of the memory pages.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Don1
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 2482
Location: UK, Near the middle..............

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now test the system to see if it's stable.

In the bios there will be a memory ratio setting somewhere. Maybe just a list of speed such as 200MHz, 166MHz 133MHz e.t.c.

Setting this to say 166MHz while also seting the FSB to 250MHz should give a memory speed of 200MHz.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    I See Elvis Forum Index -> Forum Help/Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group