I I See Elvis
I See Elvis Players Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SATA

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    I See Elvis Forum Index -> Forum Help/Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:46 pm    Post subject: SATA Reply with quote

Sat down to load up my new SATA drive today but for some reason my computer is not recognising the SATA, I have turned on the SATA drives in the BIOS but still not joy, the drive is showing up in the sytem list but has the yellow question mark on it - any ideas?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GRIM
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 965

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

go back to work, its cheaper!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I can see the device and have disconnected my 2 IDE drives and installed the SATA all is well, except 2 things:

1. On the SATA I cannot connect to the Internet from my router, all the lights are on the cable is connected and nothing?

2. The moment I put the and of the IDE back in I the machine books from them not the SATA although the SATA has XP on it not the others, in the BIOS I have configured the SATA to boot first but one the IDE is back in it chooses that?

All solutions welcome!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smurf just for you ill, write it again when I'm sober
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wozzer
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 605
Location: Peterborough cambs

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what are the ide drive jumpers set as and did you adjust the boot seqence etc.........

if you want real help ask don not smurf tho.........lmfao
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Don1
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 2482
Location: UK, Near the middle..............

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When your sober, tell me what mother board you have (make/model) and what connector the SATA drive is connected to.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, sober now [smilie=new_all_coholic.gif] I have a ASUS A8N32SLI Deluxe and the SATA is connected to SATA port 1. I now have it registering on my computer and can get internet. I have set the IDE to slave and only have one connected now. Just about to boot onto the SATA and install a fresh Win XP onto it. Ill report when I get back on
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Don1
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 2482
Location: UK, Near the middle..............

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the bios, you need to goto the BOOT menu. There you can set the device priority. And then set the boot order. Just ensure that the IDE devices are not at the top.

The order of the devices on the IDE doesn't matter, i.e. the IDE hard drive can be either master or slave, it won't affect the SATA at all.

Also, you may need the drivers on floppy BEFORE you install XP. RTFM to achieve this.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Walter
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1008
Location: Nottingham

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just as I thought!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Don1
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 2482
Location: UK, Near the middle..............

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Walter wrote:
just as I thought!


Walter, STFU.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All done thanks for the advice, yours was a great help Walt
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viking44
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 1138
Location: The Army

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now populating the SATA, do I have to re-install all the games or can I drag them from the IDE to the SATA?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Don1
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 2482
Location: UK, Near the middle..............

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have installed XP fresh then you'll have to install everything again.

I would have used Ghost or Acronis and imaged the drive ! Confused
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Walter
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1008
Location: Nottingham

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could have told you that.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
smurf_killer
Need To Get Out More !
Need To Get Out More !


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 1719
Location: Cambridgeshire

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woz go jump off a cliff, cos you obviously will do it better than anyone else ffs....
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    I See Elvis Forum Index -> Forum Help/Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group